Communist Party USA: Taking Care of the Future, from Here to Socialism


CPUSA Chairman Sam Webb

“The Communists fight for the attainment of the immediate aims, for the enforcement of the momentary interests of the working class; but in the movement of the present, they also represent and take care of the future of that movement.”

- Communist Manifesto

How do socialists and communists engage in the day-to-day struggles like the fight to raise the minimum wage or reinstate unemployment insurance while keeping an eye on long-term vision? In a period where working people and the broad-based progressive movement are so often on the defensive, how to address issues like political independence, radical demands and even socialism? How exactly do we “take care of the future of the movement?”

Join us for a Google+ Hangout webinar with Communist Party chairperson Sam Webb. This event is part of the Convention Discussion leading up to and through the 30th National Convention of the Communist Party this summer in Chicago, IL. There will be a short presentation followed by Q & A.

Taking care of the future, from here to Socialism
Wednesday, February 12, 2014
8pm Eastern (GMT -5), 7pm Central, 6pm Mountain, 5pm Pacific
Watch the event live on YouTube or on our website

You can also post your questions starting now all the way up to the end of the event.

Please RSVP on the Google Event Page or on Facebook in order to get reminders and invite friends.

Sam Webb is the national chairperson of the Communist Party, USA. From 1977 through 1988 he was the state organizer of the Communist Party in Michigan. Earlier, he was active in the labor movement in his home state of Maine. Webb currently resides in New York City, graduated from St. Francis Xavier University in Nova Scotia and received his MA in economics from the University of Connecticut.

Founded in 1919, the Communist Party USA has championed the struggles for democracy, labor rights, women’s equality, racial justice, peace and socialism for ninety-five years. The Communist Party has an unparalleled history in the progressive movement of the United States, from the struggle against Jim Crow segregation, the organizing of the industrial unions, from the canneries of California, to the sweatshops of New York City.

Sent to me via email

4 thoughts on “Communist Party USA: Taking Care of the Future, from Here to Socialism

  1. Mark Axinn

    “Don’t you go where the huskies go and don’t you eat no yellow snow.”
    –Same excellent source

  2. Deran

    When was the last time the CPUSA ran any candidates? I think Hall/Davis in 1984 was the last time they ran a presidential campaign? Does the CPUSA even qualify as an electoral third party anymore? More like a retirement home for aged bolshies.

  3. Jed Ziggler Post author

    “When was the last time the CPUSA ran any candidates?”

    2009, Rick Nagin for Cleveland City Council. He lost to Brian Cummins of the Green Party.

Leave a Reply